Uncorny Coney

My absolute favorite time to visit Coney Island is off season. There’s such a down at the heels, sadly romantic feel about the place. It’s quiet.

Coney Island in Winter

You can hear the waves lapping at the shoreline. I love it.

Coney Island in Winter

During the summer it’s a whole ‘nother story. I try to avoid it like the plague. Thousands of people swarm the boardwalk and it’s hotter than hades.

Coney Island in Winter

Nathan’s is open year round, as is the rightfully famous Totonno’s.

The Cyclone is not.

The Cyclone

Trust me, that’s okay. It’s the scariest roller coaster I’ve ever been on. It whips you so hard they ask you to take your glasses off. I balked when the guy asked me that. I said, “But what if I want to see?” And the guy replied to me, “Trust me, you’re not going to want to!”

~ by ann on April 10, 2007.

2 Responses to “Uncorny Coney”

  1. I have such a romanticized feeling about Coney Island, too. I drag Alex there whenever I can get away with it, and I can’t believe I haven’t been there yet this year. If you get a chance, the pelmeni and vareniki at nearby Cafe Glechik are my absolute favorite. Um, don’t go there for friendly service or anything.

  2. Thanks so much for sharing your New York with us, Ann. It’s a treat, especially for those of us who’ve never been.

Leave a Reply

 
